[WATCH] 2021 Costume Designers Guild Awards Winners List – Deadline

The 23rd Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards are presented in a virtual ceremony tonight, and Deadline is updating the list of winners live as they are announced.

The CDGAs, which celebrate the best in film, television and short costume design spanning eight categories, with the renowned film awards divided into Contemporary, Vintage and Fantasy Races. Check out the list of winners and other nominees below.

The ceremony is being broadcast live on Twitter for the first time – you can follow here:

TV side, Westworld‘s Shay Cunliffe won the Trophy for Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television, Debra Hansen of Schitt’s Creek won for Contemporary Television and Gabriele Binder won the Period Television Award for The queen’s gambit.

The Variety, Reality-Competition or Live Television award went to Paul Tazewell for Hamilton, and April Napier won the Short Form Design for Damien Chazelle’s iPhone short The Double Stunt.

Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers for the Costume Designers Guild Awards

Since the CDGAs launched 22 years ago, the Oscar for Best Costume has gone to a period film almost twice. Mad Max: Fury Road and Black Panther against the trend in 2016 and 2019, respectively. True to form, this year’s five Oscar nominees are set in the past, with CDGA nominees Ma Rainey’s black background (Netflix), Mank facing the statuette against Focus Features’ Emma and disney Mulan and Pinocchio, who are both vying for excellence in sci-fi / fantasy film tonight.

Jojo Rabbit won last year’s CDG Award for a period film, but Little woman.

Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers
Everett Collection

Longtime production partners Shondaland, Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers (Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, et al.) received the Guild’s Distinguished Collaborator Award, which is given to individuals who demonstrate unwavering support for costume design and creative partnerships with costume designers.

Lana Condor, star of the To all the boys films, hosts CDGAs and presenters include Rose Byrne, Andra Day, Emerald Fennell, Regina King, Leslie Odom Jr. and Amanda Seyfried.

CDG, IATSE Local 892, comprises over 1,200 costume designers and illustrators working in film, television, commercials, music videos and new media programs around the world.

Here are the Costume Designers Guild Award winners announced so far, followed by nominees in the remaining categories:


Excellence in designing short forms
Apple: Shot on iPhone by Damien Chazelle – Vertical Cinema short film “The Stunt Double”
April Napier

Excellence in variety, reality-competition, live television
Paul Tazewell

Excellence in vintage television
The queen’s gambit: “End of the game”
Gabriele Binder

Excellence in contemporary television
Schitt’s Creek: “Happy Ending”
Debra hanson

Excellence in Science Fiction / Fantasy Television
Westworld: “Because Dominates”
Shay cunliffe


Excellence in Science Fiction / Fantasy Film

Jenny Beavan

Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Journey
Michael wilkinson

Bina daigeler

Massimo Cantini Parrini

Wonder Woman 1984
Lindy hemming

Excellence in contemporary cinema

Barb and Star go to Vista Del Mar
Trayce Gigi Field

Birds of prey
Erin benach

Da 5 bloods
Donna Berwick

Promising young woman
Nancy Steiner

Lou eyrich

Excellence in period cinema

Alexandra Byrne

Judas and the Black Messiah
Charlese antoinette jones

Ma Rainey’s black background
Ann roth

Trish summerville

One night in Miami
Francine Jamison-Tanchuck

Previous Post

Rashmika Mandanna reveals her parents’ first reaction when she learns she will play Amitabh Bachchan’s daughter in Goodbye: Bollywood News

Next Post

“You have made me so proud so consistently for so many decades”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: