Walt Disney Co., Motion Picture Association to Stop Contributions – Deadline

The Walt Disney Co. and Motion Picture Association are joining Comcast and AT&T to end political contributions to House and Senate lawmakers who voted to reject certification of electoral votes for Joe Biden.

A Disney spokesperson said: “The insurgency on our nation’s Capitol was a direct attack on one of our nation’s most revered tenets: the peaceful transition of power. In the aftermath of this appalling siege, members of Congress had the opportunity to unite – an opportunity that some unfortunately refused to take. In light of these events, we have decided not to make political contributions in 2021 to lawmakers who voted to reject the certification of electoral college votes.

Mike Pence says he won’t invoke 25th Amendment to remove Donald Trump

Patrick Kilcur, executive vice president of US government affairs for AMP, said in a statement: “The Motion Picture Association is shocked and saddened by the horrific events that unfolded on the US Capitol last week. As such, we have decided to suspend for the foreseeable future all contributions to members of Congress who have voted to challenge the certification of Electoral College votes.

“In addition, many MPA and member company employees, including myself, have spent many years of our careers working on Capitol Hill as congressional staff. Our thoughts and prayers remain with our friends and colleagues who courageously endured the onslaught of the past week – and continue to serve our country in these difficult times.

AT&T, parent company of WarnerMedia, and Comcast, parent company of NBCUniversal, announced Monday that they would suspend contributions, joining a host of other companies including Marriott, Blue Cross Blue Shield and American Express.

The member companies of the Motion Picture Association are Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, Paramount Pictures, Sony Pictures, Universal Studios, Warner Bros. Entertainment and Netflix Studios.

Eight Republican senators and 139 House members voted against certifying Biden’s victory, even following the riots on Capitol Hill.

Corporate PACs can give a maximum of $ 2,800 to each candidate per election and $ 5,000 to a party committee. Senators who voted against certification include Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Senator Rick Scott (R-FL), Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS), Senator John Kennedy (R-LA), the Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Senator Josh Hawley (R-MO), Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) and Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-WY).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: