The winners from Rotterdam and Goteborg; Thruline Signs Writer Celeste Parr – Deadline

Rotterdam winners
This year, the Rotterdam International Virtual Film Festival crowned the winners of its film program. South India set Pebbles by Vinothraj PS won the Tiger Award, while I Comete – A Corsican summer by French filmmaker Pascal Tagnati and In Search of Venera by Norika Sefa from Kosovo both won special jury prizes. The VPRO Big Screen Award was awarded to El perro que no calla by Ana Katz from Argentina and Quo Vadis, Aida? by Bosnian filmmaker Jasmila Žbanić won the BankGiro Loterij Audience Award. The festival named its industry winners last week. “In these most difficult times, we are extremely proud to have brought an exceptional selection of titles into our redesigned festival format,” said festival director Vanja Kaludjercic.

Swedish Guldbagge Prize; Rental of Storyglass; Deal Docsville; C4 buys ‘Ramy’ – Global Briefs

Gothenburg Festival Prize
Tigers, directed by Ronnie Sandahl, won the Dragon Award for Best Nordic Film 2021 at the end of this year’s Goteborg Film Festival. The Dragon Award for Best Actor went to Erik Enge for his performance in the same film, while the Film Critic’s Award, FIPRESCI, went to Pleasure by Ninja Thyberg. Linda Wassberg won the Sven Nykvist Cinematography Award for Tove. The Dragon Audience Award for Best Nordic Film went to Another round by Thomas Vinterberg. Jonas Poher Rasmussen To run away won the Dragon Award for Best Nordic Documentary. The Ingmar Bergman International Debut Award went to Li Dongmei for Mom. The Dragon Award for Best International Film went to Jasmila Zbanic Quo Vadis, Aida ?. Finally, Ruben Östlund won the Nordic Honorary Dragon Award this year.

Writer of Thrulin Signs Celeste Parr
EXCLUSIVE: Canadian screenwriter Celeste Parr has signed with Thruline Entertainment. It will be taken over by his partner Marc Hamou and literary director Danny Sherman. Parr is currently writing Ethel Orchestra, a new feature film directed by Aisling Walsh and produced by Marie-Claude Poulin and Martina Niland. His previous credits include writing and co-producing for CityTV’s Hudson and Rex, as well as writing for the second season of CBC This life, for which she was nominated for a WGC Screenwriting Award. Parr’s first feature film, Gurov and Anna, earned her a screenwriter nomination for the Prix Iris du Québec in 2016. She is an alumnus of the 2015 TIFF Talent Lab, the TIFF Writers Studio 2019 and the Netflix-Banff Diversity of Voices 2020 program.

“ Unsinkable ” finalizes the casting
EXCLUSIVE: Nathalie Emmanuel joined Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Brian Cox and John Malkovich in Unsinkable, an original “audio series” told in 11 20-minute episodes. It follows the story of a WWII freighter that, after being damaged by gunfire, sees the crew re-boarding to try and save the burning ship. Misha Crosby and writer John Mawson are executive producers and directors of the series, with co-producers B7 Media and Jack Bowman, AudioMarvels, leading the UK portion of the production. Composer Stephen Endelman will compose original music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: