New York Film Critics Circle Celebrates Winners With Virtual Ceremony – Deadline

The New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC celebrated its 86th annual awards ceremony to celebrate this year’s winners and for the first time, it was virtual.

The pre-recorded ceremony was hosted by NYFCC President Stephanie Zacharek of Time magazine. She presented awards alongside last year’s winners, Martin Scorsese (best film, Irish) and Bong Joon-Ho (Best Foreign Language Film, Parasite) as well as Frances McDormand, Alfre Woodard, Chloe Sevigny and Sacha Baron Cohen.

Norm Lewis was also on hand to honor his great Da 5 bloods co-starring Chadwick Boseman. His wife, Taylor Simone Ledward accepted her award for Best Supporting Actor.

Scorsese honored Spike Lee with a special award for his short film New York, New York, who was shot during the pandemic. the Da 5 bloods The filmmaker recorded his acceptance speech on Jan.6 when Trump supporters stormed the Capitol. “We’re at a crossroads now and everyone, please be careful. It’s not a game, ”he said. “This agent of President Orange will go down in history with Hitler,” he added, before saying that the politicians who stood with Trump are “on the wrong side of history.”

Spike Lee compares Trump to Hitler in New York Film Critics Awards acceptance speech

This year also marked the retirement of NYFCC CEO Marshall Fine. Fine is a four-time past president of the group and has been a member of the NYFCC since 1989. Establishing the position of treasurer in 1993, he served as a support for the group’s presidents. After stepping down from criticism in 2016, he created the role of general manager to oversee the annual NYFCC awards dinner and ensure the group’s continuity from year to year.

Stephen Garrett will enter as CEO for 2021 and will be a non-voting member of NYFCC. Since 1998, he has been the group’s de facto archivist. Garrett is the Founder and President of Jump Cut, a marketing company specializing in trailers and posters for independent, foreign language and documentary films. He was the former film editor at Time Out New York, and wrote for Esquire, filmmaker, The Observer, and Globe of books and movies.

Watch the full ceremony above. Read the full list of previously announced NYFCC winners and presenters below.

Best film
First cow
Presented by Bong Joon-ho

Best director
Chloe Zhao, Nomadland
Presented by Frances McDormand

Best scenario
Eliza Hittman, Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best actress
Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Presented by Chloë Sevigny

Best actor
Delroy Lindo, Da 5 bloods
Presented by Alfre Woodard

Best Supporting Actress
Maria Bakalova, Borat Next Movie Movie
Presented by Sacha Baron Cohen

Best Supporting Actor
Chadwick Boseman, Da 5 bloods
Presented by Norm Lewis

Best Foreign Language Film

Best photography
Shabier Kirchner, Small ax (all movies)

Best Documentary Film

Best first film
The 40-year-old version (Radha Blank)

Best animated film

Special prices
Kino Lorber

Spike Lee *Presented by Martin Scorsese

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: