Joe Krebs to Receive SAG-AFTRA President’s Award for Meritorious Service – Deadline

Emmy-winning broadcaster Joe Krebs was named this year’s recipient of the SAG-AFTRA President’s Award, which honors meritorious service to union members and the American labor movement.

Krebs was president of the Washington-Baltimore local of AFTRA from 1997 to 2009 and was instrumental in the merger of SAG and AFTRA, co-author of the new union constitution and structure contributions. The two unions merged nine years ago this week. Now retired, he spent 32 years at WRC-TV, the NBC subsidiary in Washington, DC – including 18 years as the presenter of its morning news program.

“Joe Krebs’ impressive career of over 40 years in the broadcasting industry would stand alone, but it is his generous soul and relentless passion for justice that really set him apart,” said President of SAG-AFTRA Gabrielle Carteris. “His professional accomplishments tell only part of the story; he devoted countless hours to union leadership and committees for the welfare of his colleagues. He has mentored many people and has always stood up for the members and their needs.

He retired in 2012, but continued to serve the union, including as chairman of the National Broadcasting Steering Committee. In 2017, he received the union’s George Heller Memorial Award – a gold membership card – for his “outstanding record in serving the union and its members”. The 27th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will take place on Sunday.

Krebs is the fourth President’s Award recipient, after John McGuire, Richard Masur and Mike Hodge, who received the inaugural honor in 2017.

Previous Post

Photos: Katrina Kaif, Isabelle Kaif and others seen at Mizu restaurant in Bandra

Next Post

Neha Kakkar receives Kanjivaram Saree as a wedding gift from Rekha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: