2021 Contenders Television: Documentary + Unscripted: Live Stream, Schedule – Deadline

There are a few months until the official start of summer, but Saturday is shining brightly with the new season of the Deadline’s Contenders Television franchise. Padma Lakshmi, Demi Lovato, Stephen Colbert, Jameela Jamil, Amy Schumer and the Queer eye the guys are among the lineup panelists as we kick off our very last event of the TV awards season.

Deadline’s very first Contenders TV: Unscripted Documentary + begins at 8 a.m. PT, with a full day spotlighting the genre’s most vital shows and top talent, filled with virtual presentations from nearly 40 programs from 19 points of sale.

To watch the live broadcast of today’s event, Click here.

Starting with the thrill of Starz Men in Kilts: a roadtrip with Sam and Graham, today’s lineup includes Hulu’s Taste the Nation with Padma Lakshmi, YouTube Originals’ Demi Lovato: Dancing with the Devil and Netflix Queer eye, as well as Fox’s The masked singer and FX The coaching of Britney Spears (The New York Times presents). Also in the mix are panels on The Real World Homecoming: New York, City So Real, Nailed It !, Indian Matchmaking, Lenox Hill, The Social Dilemma, Seduced: Inside the NXIVM Cult, RuPaul’s Drag Race, It’s Paris, the tragically powerful The Murder of Breonna Taylor (The New York Times Presents) and more.

The network and streamers include Apple TV +, Apple Original Films, Amazon Studios, BET, CBS Studios, Fox, FX, HBO, HBO Max, Hulu, Lifetime, MTV, MTV Documentary Film, MTV Entertainment Studios, National Geographic, Netflix, Starz, VH1, and YouTube Originals.

So join me and my fellow moderators Amanda N’Duka, Peter White, Matthew Carey, Diana Lodderhose, Matt Grobar, Dade Hayes, and Dino-Ray Ramos for what promises to be a great day of conversation and revealing. And don’t forget, there are more sunny days to come with Deadline’s Contenders Television on May 15, another celebrity virtual event that will focus on scripted series. Sign up for it here.

Our partners for Contenders TV are Eyepetizer, Michter’s, Crop Organic Vodka, Seatopia and Optimist Botanicals.

Follow the full schedule of today’s programs and panelists below, as well as online through Deadline’s Twitter, Facebook and Instagram canals. Look for the hashtag #DeadlineContenders.

Contenders Television: documentary + unscripted program 2021
(all times PT)

8:00 a.m. – Live stream begins / opening commentary


8: 03-8: 13 am – Men in Kilts: A roadtrip with Sam and Graham

Sam Heughan (EP / Host)
Graham McTavish (EP / Host)

8: 13-8: 24 am – Seduced: inside the NXIVM cult

Inbal B. Lessner (editor-in-chief / EP)
Cecilia Peck (Director / EP)


8: 24-8: 37 am – Welcome to Chechnya

David France (director / producer / screenwriter)
Alice Henty (producer)
Askold Kurov (producer / director of photography)

8: 37-8: 47 am – 40 years in prison

Mike Africa Jr (Subject / Original song: “Fly Baby”)
Mike Jackson (EP)
Tommy Oliver (Director / Producer / Editor / Cinematographer


8: 47-8: 59 am – Waiting for Amy

Alexander Hammer (EP / Director / Publisher)
Amy Schumer (producer)

8: 59-9: 10 am – Legendary

Jameela Jamil (PE / judge)
Leiomy Maldonado (judge)
Law Roach (judge)
Dashaun Wesley (MC)


9:10 a.m. – 9:20 a.m. – Taste the Nation

Padma Lakshmi (Host / EP)

9: 20-9: 31 am – Derek DelGaudio is in himself

Stephen Colbert (EP)
Derek DelGaudio (Writer / Creator / Performer)
Frank Oz (director)


9: 31-9: 42 am – City So Real

Amara Enyia (subject of the series)
Steve James (director / producer / editor)


9:42 am-9:53 am – BET Awards 2020

Jesse Collins (Founder and CEO Jesse Collins Entertainment / EP)
Connie Orlando (EVP Specials, music programming and music strategy)

9: 53-10: 05 – Smoke: Marijuana + Black America

Scott Durrah (Master Cannabis Chef of Simply Pure Dispensary)
Wanda James (Co-Founder and CEO of Simply Pure Dispensary)
Erik Parker (director)

10:06 am-10:16am – MORNING BREAK


10:16 am-10:26 am – Demi Lovato: Dance with the devil

Demi Lovato (subject)
Michael B. Ratner (executive producer / director)

10:26 am-10:37am – It’s Paris

Alexandra Dean (director)
Paris Hilton (subject)


10:37 am-10:48 am – RuPaul Drag Race

Symone (RPDR Season 13 Finalist)
Shea Couleé (RPDR All Stars 5 Winner)
Jaida Essence Hall (RPDR Season 12 winner)
Jamal Sims (Choreographer)


10: 48-10: 59 am – Wendy Williams: What a mess!

Wendy Williams (Star / EP)


11-11: 09 am – Nailed!

Nicole Byer (host)

11:09 am-11:20 am – Queer Eye

Bobby Berk (host)
Karamo Brown (host)
Tan France (host)
Antoni Porowski (host)
Jonathan Van Ness (host)

11:20 am-11:32 am – The social dilemma

Jeff Orlowski (director)
Larissa Rhodes (producer)

11: 32-11: 41 am – Indian matchmaking

Smriti Mundhra (EP)
Sima Taparia (matchmaker)

11:41 am-11:51 am – Lenox Hill

Adi Barash (director / producer)
Ruthie Shatz (director / producer)

11:53 am – 12:23 pm – LUNCH BREAK


12: 24-12: 36 pm – annual departure

Rachel Brosnahan (EP / Eulogist)
Bess Kalb (EP / Editor-in-chief)
Linda Mendoza (director)
Franchesca Ramsey (Writer)

12: 36-12: 47 pm – What the Constitution Means to Me

Heidi Schreck (Writer / Performer / EP)


12:47 p.m. – 12:58 p.m. – The murder of Breonna Taylor (The New York Times presents)

Lora Moftah (producer)
Yoruba Richen (Producer / Director)

12.58pm-1.20pm – Pride

Alex Stapleton (EP / Showrunner)
Christine Vachon (EP)

1:08 p.m. to 1:19 p.m. – Hysterical

Marina Franklin (standing comic)
Jessica Kirson (Stand-Up Comic / EP)
Andrea Nevins (Director / EP)

1:19 p.m. – 1:29 p.m. – Supervision by Britney Spears (The New York Times presents)

Liz Day (Senior Story Writer)
Mary Robertson (Showrunner / EP)
Samantha Stark (producer / director)

13h29-13h41 – Hip Hop discovered

Jonathan Chinn (EP)
Rashidi Natara Harper (EP / Director)
Malcolm Spellman (EP)


1:41 p.m. to 1:52 p.m. – The year the Earth changed

Tom Beard (director)
Mike Gunton (EP)

13:52 to 14:13 – Dear …

Jane Cha Cutler (EP)
RJ Cutler (EP)
Randy Wilkins (director, Spike Lee episode)

2:01 p.m. – 2:13 p.m. – 1971: the year music changed everything

James Gay-Reese (EP)
Chris King (EP / Publisher)
Danielle Peck (series producer / director)
James Rogan (director)


2:13 p.m. – 2:24 p.m. – Boys State

Steven Garza (subject)
Amanda McBaine (producer / director)
Jesse Moss (producer / director)

2:25 p.m. – 2:35 p.m. – AFTERNOON BREAK


2:35 p.m.-2:47 p.m. – The Real World Homecoming: New York

Heather B. Gardner (Cast Member)
Jon Murray (creator / EP, Bunim Murray Productions)
Kevin Powell (cast member)
George Verschoor (EP, Bunim / Murray Productions)


14:47 – 14:57 – 76 days

Jean Tsien (Producer)
Hao Wu (director)


2:57 p.m. to 3:20 p.m. – The challenge: double agents

Emer Harkin (EP, Bunim-Murray Productions)
Aneesa Ferreira (cast member)
Leroy Garrett (cast member)
Julie Pizzi (President, Bunim-Murray Productions)


3:08 p.m. to 3:20 p.m. – Hard as nails

Louise Koeghan (Co-Creator / EP)
Phil Koeghan (host / co-creator / EP)

3.20 p.m.-3.30 p.m. – The Amazing Race

Elise Doganieri (Co-Creator / EP)
Bertram van Munster (Co-Creator / EP / Director)


3:30 p.m. to 3:41 p.m. – I can see your voice

Ken Jeong (host / EP)

3:41 p.m. – 3:51 p.m. – The masked singer

James Breen (Showrunner / EP)
Ken Jeong (panelist)
Rosie Seitchik (EP)

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
Previous Post

BTS releases first concept music video poster for upcoming single ‘Butter’: Bollywood News

Next Post

Akshay Kumar started to bleed after Dimple Kapadia stabbed him on stage at awards ceremony

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: